Since my launch was postponed, I had some extra time to make a couple baby gifts for one of nearest and dearest friends. She is actually the one who taught me to knit ten years ago on a weekend getaway. We laugh that once those needles were in my hands I never looked up again that weekend.

Not wanting to take on a big project, I was just going to knit a hat or something small. Then I saw the Four Corners blanket on the Purl Bee, a gorgeous modern baby blanket. I knew immediately that it would be the perfect gift. I used a much bulkier yarn in bold colors and it knit up fast!

Since I finished the blanket faster than expected, I had time to whip up a quick nursing cover. I’m just learning to sew, so I love practicing on these. I followed the Prudent Baby tutorial and added a soft terry cloth corner pocket. I think it’s especially nice for moms having boys (like my friend) to have some pretty, girly things. I love how the fabric coordinates with the colors in the blanket.

