I am happily writing this post from the garden, with the peepers chirping away as they enjoy their first day outside. I’ve got a bowlful of cherries and my magazines to catch up on… right after I finish writing this post.

We received the sweetest little surprise on our doorstep yesterday. Our neighbor heard that we were raising chickens and wanted to welcome us to the club by dropping off some eggs from her flock. The carton had a cute label and the eggs were even branded! How adorable is that?

 This inspired me to make my favorite Sunday brunch dish: baked eggs. I make different variations of this depending on what’s in the fridge. This week it was homemade nasturtium pesto with tomatoes.

I mentioned before that not much but weeds grow in our yard, but nasturtium is probably our most prolific (tied with wild fennel). I love putting the flowers in our salads, which add a nice peppery flavor and bright yellow and orange colors to the plate.

One day, I was looking at our bounty of giant lily pad sized leaves and thought, “there must be something we can do with all these leaves”. So, of course, I googled it. I found a very simple recipe for nasturtium pesto using walnuts instead of pine nuts and whipped up a batch in no time without having to buy a single ingredient. Since then, we always have some on hand to use in baked eggs, scrambled eggs, fish, pasta, and simply as a spread on bread.

Nasturtium Pesto (via planTea)

Put the following ingredients into a food processor or blender:
4 cups packed nasturtium leaves
3 to 5 cloves of garlic
1 and 1/2 cups olive oil
2 drops Tabasco sauce
1 cup walnuts

Process the mixture until smooth.

Baked Eggs for Two

 Ingredients:

2+ tbsp fresh nasturtium pesto
2 fresh eggs, preferably from your own flock or a friendly neighbor’s!
half of a medium tomato, diced

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
Spread a tablespoon of pesto in the bottom of each ramekin. Crack an egg into each and distribute tomatoes evenly.
Drizzle some more pesto over the top. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Bake in oven for 15 minutes, or until egg turns white but yolk is still soft.

Enjoy!

