It’s a special 4th of July in our household this year. My German-born husband just became a full-fledged American citizen after having a green card for nearly a decade. He kept his German citizenship, so he now has two passports, making him a real international man of mystery (cue Austin Powers theme song)!

We are celebrating with a good ol’ American bbq, complete with burgers, hot dogs, corn-on-the-cob, potato salad, and these patriotic cupcakes.

We just got a big bag of lemons from a friend, so I decided to make these yummy lemon cupcakes with cream cheese frosting I found on my baking addiction. They were super easy to make and frost, even for a novice like myself. I kept the decorating simple but festive. Adding the fruit on top actually helped cover up imperfections and smooth out the frosting. I love the way they turned out, and they’re incredibly delicious!

Have a safe and happy 4th!

