A couple months back, this gorgeous fiber art sculpture caught my eye on Pinterest because of its vivid, playful colors. It reminded me of Ruth Asawa‘s work, except in technicolor, so I saved it to my color board for inspiration. What I didn’t realize until I came across it again on Hello Lucky’s blog yesterday, is that it’s actually a giant crocheted playground!

Japanese fiber artist Toshiko Horiuchi-MacAdam created this fun, interactive play environment at Hakone Open-Air Museum in Hakone, Japan. Her larger-than-life play sculptures are designed (and structurally engineered) for kids to explore, climb, swing, bounce, hang, and play on, but I think they are inspiring enough to bring out the kid in all of us.

You can see more of her amazing work here. I can only imagine how stunning they must be in person. Unfortunately, they are all in Japan.

Hmmm, travel playdate, anyone?

