PD turns 1 croppedWow, it’s hard to believe that I launched percolating design just one year ago today. It feels great to look back and see how much it’s grown from a simple design idea into a real business in such a short amount of time.

When I started, I thought I would just knit my jewelry and customers would come clamoring for them. Not really, but I had no idea how much effort I’d be putting into everything else besides knitting. I think that I have spent more time doing marketing, PR, photography and social media than actually knitting in the past year. While I’ve had some steep learning curves, I feel like I’m making progress and gaining valuable skills that I can use in other endeavors.

Once my online presence was established, I had to decide whether to enter the world of craft shows. I was hesitant at first, but after dipping my toe into the pool with two holiday shows, I realized how valuable they can be. With the help of my handy husband, we designed and (he) built a brand new display for my shows, which debuted at Urban Air Market earlier this month. This summer, I’m looking forward to traveling down to LA for the Renegade Show in July and introducing percolating design to a new market.

display UAMAnother benefit of being at local shows was connecting with local retailers. I learned that a lot of store owners attend local events to discover new designers and scope out unique products for their stores. That’s how I met the awesome folks at San Franpsycho, Local Take and Park & Pond, who now carry my jewelry in their stores.

My latest endeavor is to expand my online reach. I’m currently setting up a new shop on OpenSky, an innovative new social shopping experience with over 3 million members. OpenSky is committed to helping small businesses like mine grow. It will be a great way to expand my reach and gain valuable exposure to industry insiders.

imageI need 20 fans to follow my store before it can open to the public though. Please follow my store so more people can discover the exciting things in store for percolating design in year two… and beyond!

